Arrival in Tiberias / day 1

The first of many posts where I will be sharing my experiences visiting the holy land. I hope you enjoy! 

Departing from Las Vegas with my church back in February. On our way to Israel!

16-1-1

Mccarran Airport

16-1

Colorado Rockies

img_20160229_140432

Above the clouds.

img_20160229_152755

… 21 hours later… We arrived in Ben Gurion Airport. After walking through customs our group was introduced to our wonderful Israeli guide Ami, who everyone would grow to love in no time. We then loaded into our tour bus, which would be our home for the next 10 days,  and began the journey to the Caesar hotel in Tiberias. Two hours later we finally arrived at our destination. Tired from our long day traveling,  everyone had a quick dinner before heading to bed.

I was also exhausted but too filled with anticipation to call it a night before first walking down to the Sea of Galilee, which was now only a short walking distance away. Although it was very dark outside, the pier lights along the shore were slightly dim enough to see what I had only dreamed about since I was a young boy. Where a man named Jesus walked on the water and healed thousands. Where the words were first uttered. Mark 1 – The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand”.

That night I was only able to sleep close to five hours, jet lag and excitement had already set in. I laid awake until the first sign of dawn was coming over the hills of Galilee. I then grabbed my Bible and headed down to get my first glimpses of the Sea I only had read about.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Fisherman on the Sea of Galilee … Somethings never change.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The town of Capernaum off in the distance. A city where Jesus lived.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

As the wee hours of morning were coming to an end,  it was time for our group to begin loading into our new traveling home, the bus. I turned and thanked God for one of the most blessed morning’s of my entire life. Grabbing my Bible I headed towards the bus to see what God had in store for what was already turning out to be an amazing trip.

 

 

Leave a Reply

